Uganda September 20, 2012 By Darlene Frantonius

It is now about 10:30 on a sunny Thursday morning. Nina and I just returned from a 1 hour walk. Our hope was to do that each day but time does not allow.

Yesterday I was doing my wash and my two girls saw me. They asked if they could hep and naturally I said yes. After the clothes were washed I filled the basin so that I could rinse them. The girls started to put soap in the water and I stopped them and explained I was going to rinse them. They looked at each other and laughed. When asked why they said “no, you wash 3 times”. Then I laughed and told them I am a lazy American and one washing would be  fine. I was amazed that they got my white socks to look like new. Since I will be going to Kampala tomorrow I told them I would bring them a treat and I asked if they wanted a chocolate bar or juice. Both of them chose juice.

As I mentioned before we were in the process of getting the borehole fixed. When  Ssebo (Mr.) Dan opened the upper unit he found the bearings were shot. That meant that a taxi had to deliver the part on Tuesday morning and an additional 300,000 UGS was added to the bill. So much for no more unexpected expenses. I have to admit it was very interesting to watch them do the repair. So many times here I feel like I am living with Laura Ingalls’s on the prairie.  Prior to the repairs the community was using our well. Often the children jump up and down when they pump and that is what ruins the lower unit. Now we have decided to close it to the locals. The hope is that it will require less frequent repairs. Mr. Dan is also installing two horizontal rods, one above the handle and the other below. It will restrict how far the handle can go and down  and  that also helps reduce repairs.

This week we visited St. Lawrence School in Migeera. They were part of the Library program. We are often treated to music programs when we visit the schools but the one at St. Lawrence was exceptional. I wish you  could have enjoyed it also. The only problem with going there is that I feel like I am in the desert. It is much different from Kapeeka. We also went to St. Jude’s school where we have 10 sponsored children. Three of them will be sitting for National exams in Nov. They all seem to be very smart so we have high hopes that they will score well.

We were just visited by Gertrude, a student at Kapeeka Primary school. She came with her jja jja omusaja (grandfather) and they gave us sugar cane. That will be cut up and given to the children as a treat. I was amazed at how well he spoke English. I asked him what he did that his English was so good and he said he is a framer. He told me he studied at Kapeeka primary where Gertrude attends school. He certainly is a good example for her.

Yesterday Nina and I started the painting project in the boy’s dorm. We were only able to do the primer. Tomorrow we will get the paint from Kampala and hopefully paint on Sat. As I mentioned before it has been very dry for the rainy season but yesterday made up for it. As we were painting in the afternoon the wind picked up, things were blowing everywhere and the rain came from every direction. The dorm has a metal roof and Nina and I were unable to talk to each other because of the noise. Sister Ann told us she was unable to teach so the children just did homework. The only problem when it rains is that there is mud EVERYWHERE. The sponsorship team was in the field and they had trouble getting back on the motor bike.

This Sunday we will go to  mass at the home of Oliver. She is the little girl who died earlier this summer.

Once again we thank you for your interest in COVE Alliance.

Peace,

Darlene

Leave a Reply

